This guide works the numbers from one instructor to twenty.
The cheapest paid product changes twice as a school grows: Lesson Diary up to four instructors, DriveInstruct's flat School plan from five, and MyDriveTime from fourteen. Two providers charge nothing at all. At twenty instructors the gap between the cheapest and the dearest paid option is £169 against £360 a month, more than double. The MyDriveTime figures read that provider's published bands as a staircase, and that reading would need confirming.
| Charged by | Providers | What happens when you add a car |
|---|---|---|
| Instructor, flat rate | Lesson Diary, GoRoadie Pro, DriveInstruct Pro | the bill rises by the full licence price, every time |
| Instructor, tiered by fleet size | MyDriveTime, Total Drive | the bill rises, but by less with each band reached |
| School, flat rate | DriveInstruct School | nothing changes until the ceiling of ten instructors |
Total Drive charges £18 for one instructor, then £12 each from the second, so a school of two pays £24 while a solo instructor pays £18.
Taken from each provider's own pricing page on 6 September 2026.
| Provider | Published price | Charged by | VAT stated | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ADI Network | £0 | no subscription | n/a | n/a |
| DriveSchoolPro | £0 until 31 March 2027 | early access | not stated | n/a |
| Lesson Diary | £9.99/mo, Solo | instructor | not stated | 14 days |
| DriveInstruct | Free · Pro £10/mo · School £49/mo | instructor, or flat to 10 | not stated | 1 month |
| GoRoadie Pro | £15/mo | instructor | not stated | 60 days |
| Total Drive | £18 · £23 · £24 · £26/mo for one, then £12 · £17 · £18 · £20 each | instructor, tiered | ✓ inc. VAT | 30 days |
| MyDriveTime | £19/mo, then £15 · £10 · £5 | instructor, tiered | ✓ inc. VAT (schools) | 30 days |
Total Drive's four packages are Basic, Ultimate, Pro and Elite, and they differ by online booking and the 3D teaching aids. Within each package the price falls with the size of the school: on Basic it is £18 for a single instructor, £12 each from two to nine, £11 from ten and £10 from twenty. The band rate applies to every instructor, so a school of ten pays ten times £11. MyDriveTime's bands work differently. As we read the bands the provider publishes, they form a staircase: £19 for the first instructor, £15 each for the second and third, £10 each for the fourth to tenth and £5 each from the eleventh. That reading would need confirming.
The five providers with a published paid price, worked for one, three, five, six, ten and twenty instructors, using published list prices only. No discounts, no setup, no card fees. ADI Network and DriveSchoolPro are absent from the table because both currently charge nothing.
| Instructors | Lesson Diary | DriveInstruct | MyDriveTime | GoRoadie Pro | Total Drive Basic | Total Drive Elite |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | £9.99 | £10.00 | £19.00 | £15.00 | £18.00 | £26.00 |
| 3 | £29.97 | £30.00 | £49.00 | £45.00 | £36.00 | £60.00 |
| 5 | £49.95 | £49.00 | £69.00 | £75.00 | £60.00 | £100.00 |
| 6 | £59.94 | £49.00 | £79.00 | £90.00 | £72.00 | £120.00 |
| 10 | £99.90 | £49.00 | £119.00 | £150.00 | £110.00 | £190.00 |
| 20 | £199.80 | ceiling reached | £169.00 | £300.00 | £200.00 | £360.00 |
Three different providers are the cheapest paid option at three different sizes. Total Drive's own selector stops at fifteen instructors, so the figures for twenty apply the bands the provider publishes and would need confirming.
DriveInstruct's School plan covers up to ten instructors, and the provider does not publish what happens at eleven. DriveInstruct is operated by Nimble Panda Ltd, company number 17122751, registered in England and Wales.
Two of seven providers state whether VAT is in the price. Total Drive prints its membership prices as inclusive. MyDriveTime states that its school pricing includes VAT. GoRoadie Pro, Lesson Diary and DriveInstruct do not state either way.
On a subscription around £19 that is roughly £3.80 a month. An ADI trading below the VAT registration threshold cannot reclaim it, so for them an exclusive price understates the cost by a fifth.
Card payment handling. GoRoadie Pro applies a 1.9 per cent service fee when the instructor requests payment, which the provider puts at about 55p on a typical lesson, and passes the Stripe fee to the pupil when the pupil pays through the app. DriveSchoolPro states that it takes no commission on payments and that Stripe's standard processing fee applies. On a diary of 25 lessons a week, a fee of 55p a lesson is about £13.75 a week, so roughly £60 a month or £715 a year. That is more than the subscription at every provider in this comparison.
Message allowances. DriveInstruct includes 100 SMS and 200 emails a month on Pro, and 500 SMS with 1,000 emails on School. Total Drive states that it does not charge for lesson or payment reminders.
Trainee instructors. Several providers give PDIs free use. MyDriveTime and DriveInstruct both offer a free tier until qualification, and Total Drive offers free use for up to twelve months on production of a PDI badge.
ADI Network carries no subscription at all. It is operated by Star Genie Limited, company number 10093359, which also runs the learner booking brand PassMeFast, and it routes learner work to instructors on the network.
DriveSchoolPro is free during an early access phase that the provider states runs until 31 March 2027, with pricing to be announced before that date.
For one instructor, published subscriptions run from £9.99 to £26 a month. Among the paid options a five-car school pays between £49 and £100 a month, a ten-car school between £49 and £190 and a twenty-car school between £169 and £360. Two providers currently charge nothing. Prices surveyed 6 September 2026 from providers' own pages.
Two providers currently charge nothing: ADI Network, which carries no subscription, and DriveSchoolPro during the early access it states runs to 31 March 2027. Among the paid options the answer changes twice as the school grows. Below five instructors Lesson Diary's £9.99 licence is the cheapest. From five instructors DriveInstruct's flat School plan at £49 is the cheapest, up to its ceiling of ten. Above that, from fourteen instructors, MyDriveTime is the cheapest, because its eleventh and subsequent instructors cost £5 each against Lesson Diary's flat £9.99. That second crossover follows our reading of MyDriveTime's published bands as a staircase, and that reading would need confirming.
Only two of the seven providers surveyed say. Total Drive prints its prices as inclusive of VAT and MyDriveTime states that its school pricing includes VAT. GoRoadie Pro, Lesson Diary and DriveInstruct give a figure without stating either way. On a £19 subscription that is a gap of about £3.80 a month.
Card payment handling is the largest. GoRoadie Pro applies a 1.9 per cent service fee when the instructor requests payment, which the provider puts at roughly 55p on a typical lesson, and passes the Stripe fee to the pupil when the pupil pays in the app. DriveSchoolPro states it takes no commission and that Stripe's standard fee applies. Message allowances are the second: DriveInstruct includes 100 SMS and 200 emails a month on Pro, and 500 SMS with 1,000 emails on School.
ADI Network carries no subscription and is operated by Star Genie Limited, the company behind the learner booking brand PassMeFast. DriveSchoolPro is free during an early access phase that the provider states ends on 31 March 2027, with pricing to be announced before then.
The trials on offer are 14 days at Lesson Diary, one month at DriveInstruct, 30 days at Total Drive and MyDriveTime, and 60 days at GoRoadie Pro.
All prices were taken on 6 September 2026 from the providers' own pricing pages: Total Drive membership page, MyDriveTime pricing page, GoRoadie Pro product page, DriveInstruct home page, Lesson Diary plans page, DriveSchoolPro pricing page and the ADI Network app page. Company names and registration numbers were taken from the providers' own footers and legal pages on 7 September 2026. Only publicly published figures are used. Prices are stated as the provider states them, including whether VAT is mentioned; where it is not mentioned we do not infer it. The worked examples apply published list prices and published band boundaries with no discounts, setup fees, payment fees or message overages. Prices and terms change, and the provider's own information is authoritative. This guide is general information, not advice on your particular business.