Independent of providers Editorially reviewed Prices surveyed 6 September 2026 Free to use
Driving School SoftwareUK comparison & buyer's guide
Market survey 2026

Driving school software in the UK, compared

Diary, online booking, pupil progress, payments and the office view across a team of instructors. This survey sets out what each provider publishes, what it charges for and, where it matters, what it does not say.

Prices taken from providers' own pages on 6 September 2026 Billing unit shown next to every price Missing information stated as missing

The short answer

For a single instructor, published subscriptions run from £9.99 to £26 a month, and two providers currently charge nothing.

For a school with several cars it is a different question, because the providers charge by different units. A six-instructor school pays £49 a month on a flat school plan, £72 on the cheapest tiered per-instructor pricing and £90 on a flat per-instructor licence. The dearest published option for that school is £120. The £72 sits below MyDriveTime's £79 only on our reading of that provider's published bands as a staircase, and that reading would need confirming.

Only two of the seven providers state whether their published price includes VAT.

The comparison at a glance

Software for UK driving instructors and schools

Every figure below is taken from the provider's own pricing page. Surveyed 6 September 2026.

SoftwarePriceBilled byVAT statedFree trialPayment feesSchool features
Lesson Diary£9.99/mo (Solo)instructornot stated14 daysn/ssingle plan only
DriveInstructFree · £10/mo (Pro) · £49/mo (School)instructor, or flat to 10 instructorsnot stated1 monthn/s✓ dashboard, per-instructor analytics
GoRoadie Pro£15/moinstructornot stated60 days1.9% when instructor requests payment✓ GoRoadie Schools, no published price
Total Drive£18 · £23 · £24 · £26/mo (1 instructor), from 2 instructors £12 · £17 · £18 · £20 eachinstructor, tiered by fleet size✓ inc. VAT30 daysno charge for reminders✓ school price published for 1 to 15
MyDriveTime£19/mo, then £15 · £10 · £5 per further instructorinstructor, tiered by fleet size✓ inc. VAT (schools)30 daysn/s✓ free admin accounts
DriveSchoolPro£0 until 31 Mar 2027early access, all usersnot statedn/ano commission, Stripe fee applies✓ solo and multi-instructor
ADI Network£0no subscriptionn/an/an/sn/s

Surveyed 6 September 2026. “n/s” means the provider does not state this publicly. Total Drive's four packages are Basic, Ultimate, Pro and Elite and differ by online booking and teaching aids; the price within each falls with fleet size, from £18 to £12 per instructor on Basic between one and nine cars, and further to £11 from ten and £10 from twenty. DriveInstruct's School plan covers up to ten instructors at a flat rate; its Pro plan is a single-instructor licence. MyDriveTime's school pricing starts at £19 for the first instructor, then £15 each for instructors two and three, £10 each for four to ten and £5 each from eleven. Is a provider missing, or is an entry wrong? Tell us and we will correct it free of charge.

Worked example

What a six-instructor school actually pays

Same school, same month, published list prices only. No discounts, no setup, no card fees.

ProviderCalculationPer month
DriveSchoolProearly access, ends 31 March 2027£0.00
ADI Networkno subscription£0.00
DriveInstruct Schoolflat rate, up to 10 instructors£49.00
Lesson Diary6 × £9.99, single-instructor plan£59.94
Total Drive Basic6 × £12, the two-to-nine band£72.00 inc. VAT
MyDriveTime£19 + 2 × £15 + 3 × £10£79.00 inc. VAT
GoRoadie Pro6 × £15£90.00
Total Drive Elite6 × £20, the two-to-nine band£120.00 inc. VAT

DriveInstruct's £49 School plan costs more than three Pro licences at £30 and less than six at £60, so the crossover sits at five instructors. The MyDriveTime figure reads the provider's published bands as a staircase, and that reading would need confirming.

Common questions

What instructors and school owners ask first

How much does driving school software cost in the UK?

Published subscriptions for a single instructor run from £9.99 to £26 a month, and two providers charge nothing at all. A six-instructor school pays £49 a month on DriveInstruct's flat School plan, £72 on Total Drive Basic, £79 on MyDriveTime and £90 on GoRoadie Pro.

Are these prices inclusive of VAT?

Only two providers say. Total Drive prints its prices as inclusive of VAT, and MyDriveTime states that its school pricing includes VAT. GoRoadie Pro, Lesson Diary and DriveInstruct do not state either way on their pricing pages. On a £19 subscription the difference is about £3.80 a month.

Which software is free?

ADI Network is free with no subscription; it is operated by Star Genie Limited, the company behind the learner booking brand PassMeFast, and routes learner work to instructors on the network. DriveSchoolPro is currently £0 for solo ADIs and multi-instructor schools during early access, which the provider states runs until 31 March 2027. MyDriveTime is free for PDIs until they qualify. DriveInstruct gives PDIs the diary, up to five pupils, booking and the progress portal free for twelve months while they train. Total Drive offers PDIs free use for up to twelve months on production of a PDI badge. GoRoadie Pro states that PDIs have unlimited free access.

What does a multi-instructor school need that a solo ADI does not?

Four things separate a school product from an instructor diary: allocation of pupils and lessons across instructors with the record intact, an office view of every diary at once, consolidated finance across every car, and permissions for staff who do not teach.

What are the extra costs beyond the subscription?

Card payment fees are the main one, and they are charged differently. GoRoadie Pro applies a 1.9 per cent service fee when the instructor requests payment, roughly 55p on a typical lesson, and passes the Stripe fee to the pupil when the pupil pays in the app. DriveSchoolPro states it takes no commission on collected payments, with Stripe's standard fee applying. Text message allowances are the second: DriveInstruct includes 100 SMS and 200 emails a month on Pro, and 500 SMS with 1,000 emails on School.

How do I compare providers that do not publish a school price?

Ask for the billing unit. Per instructor, per active pupil, per school or per office seat are four different answers, and they determine what happens to your bill when you add a car. Four providers publish a school figure outright: DriveInstruct a flat School plan at £49 a month for up to ten instructors, Total Drive a selector for one to fifteen instructors, MyDriveTime its published bands, and DriveSchoolPro £0 for solo ADIs and schools while its early access runs. Above fifteen instructors Total Drive offers a sales contact.

How this comparison is put together. The content is written independently by our editorial team. Prices, features and terms are taken from the providers' own public pages on 6 September 2026 and may change; the provider's own information is authoritative. This comparison is general information, not advice on your particular business.